[SOLVED] PC Crashes while gaming. No BSOD.

Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
Hi, for the past couple of months, my pc has been randomly freezing while gaming, it completely hangs, no inputs work, and the audio still plays but does not loop. Then recently in the last few weeks, I have been getting bsods also, as well as the original crash without bsod. Memory management and critical structure corruption were the two bsods i got.

After spending the last month or so searching forums and troubleshooting I came to the conclusion that my ram was the culprit. And after running memtest it came up with hundreds of errors. I replaced the ram today and within 5 minutes of playing world of warcraft it crashed again in the same manner it always does. Im completely at a loss now as to what to do.

My pc ran for 3 years without any issues and only in the past few months these problems came about.

My specs are as follows:

Ryzen 2700x (no OC)
16gb (2x8) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200mhz CL16
ASUS ROG STRIX F-Gaming x470
EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
Corsair RM650x

Also on another note, the new ram i just bought will not post at its rated speed. It gets to the bios but wont boot to the OS, I had to underclock by 200mhz. But the old faulty ram does. Same model, same speed, same timings. Makes absolutely no sense to me and I have no clue if its related to the crashing issue or not.
 

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
Hi, I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/2wmrs3yu/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:022521-7328-01.dmp (Feb 25 2021 - 07:21:37)
Bugcheck:MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: chrome.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 13 Hour(s), 09 Min(s), and 19 Sec(s)

File information:022421-7515-01.dmp (Feb 24 2021 - 18:11:26)
Bugcheck:MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: chrome.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 14 Hour(s), 09 Min(s), and 07 Sec(s)

File information:022121-8906-01.dmp (Feb 21 2021 - 14:33:00)
Bugcheck:MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: Wow.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 1 Hour(s), 35 Min(s), and 49 Sec(s)

File information:022121-13875-01.dmp (Feb 21 2021 - 03:16:19)
Bugcheck:CRITICAL_STRUCTURE_CORRUPTION (109)
Probably caused by:Unknown_Image (Process: csrss.exe)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 13 Hour(s), 01 Min(s), and 52 Sec(s)
Possible Motherboard page: https://rog.asus.com/us/motherboards/rog-strix/rog-strix-x470-f-gaming-model/
There are BIOS updates available for your system. You are using version 5809 and the latest is version 5837. Wait for additional information before deciding to update or not. Important: Verify that I have linked to the correct motherboard. Updating your BIOS can be risky. Never try it when you might lose power (lightning storms, recent power outages, etc).

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
i would be tempted to run Prime 95 as it will test ram and CPU
- https://www.mersenne.org/download/
Prime 95 Guide: http://www.playtool.com/pages/prime95/prime95.html

that ram speed thing likely is connected in some way.

what ssd/hdd do you have? Memory to windows is more than just ram, it also includes the page file on C drive, so might help to scan drives as well. Memory management also can be drivers on PC.

Can you follow option one on the following link - here - and then do this step below: Small memory dumps - Have Windows Create a Small Memory Dump (Minidump) on BSOD - that creates a file in c windows/minidump after the next BSOD

Open Windows File Explorer
Navigate to C:\Windows\Minidump
Copy the mini-dump files out onto your Desktop
Do not use Winzip, use the built in facility in Windows
Select those files on your Desktop, right click them and choose 'Send to' - Compressed (zipped) folder
Upload the zip file to the Cloud (OneDrive, DropBox . . . etc.)
Then post a link here to the zip file, so we can take a look for you . . .
 
Reactions: Finneas98

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
Hi, I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/2wmrs3yu/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:022521-7328-01.dmp (Feb 25 2021 - 07:21:37)
Bugcheck:MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: chrome.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 13 Hour(s), 09 Min(s), and 19 Sec(s)

File information:022421-7515-01.dmp (Feb 24 2021 - 18:11:26)
Bugcheck:MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: chrome.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 14 Hour(s), 09 Min(s), and 07 Sec(s)

File information:022121-8906-01.dmp (Feb 21 2021 - 14:33:00)
Bugcheck:MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: Wow.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 1 Hour(s), 35 Min(s), and 49 Sec(s)

File information:022121-13875-01.dmp (Feb 21 2021 - 03:16:19)
Bugcheck:CRITICAL_STRUCTURE_CORRUPTION (109)
Probably caused by:Unknown_Image (Process: csrss.exe)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 13 Hour(s), 01 Min(s), and 52 Sec(s)
Possible Motherboard page: https://rog.asus.com/us/motherboards/rog-strix/rog-strix-x470-f-gaming-model/
There are BIOS updates available for your system. You are using version 5809 and the latest is version 5837. Wait for additional information before deciding to update or not. Important: Verify that I have linked to the correct motherboard. Updating your BIOS can be risky. Never try it when you might lose power (lightning storms, recent power outages, etc).

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
run this on samsung drives - https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/download/tools/ (Magician) - run diagnostics scans
seagate - https://www.seagate.com/au/en/support/downloads/seatools/seatools-win-master/ (I doubt its on the hdd)

i will ask a friend to convert dumps
It said my main m.2 SSD did not support the diagnostic scan feature, but the 2nd SSD did and came up clean on the short scan. I also have firmware updates for both samsung drives.
I will run the seagate tool later, I have been busy with school work at the moment.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
okay. you can use something like crystaldiskinfo to get the smart scores, its best we can do
 
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
Im not sure if I did this correctly but here is the result.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 8.0.1 x64 (C) 2007-2021 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World: https://crystalmark.info/
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  • MB/s = 1,000,000 bytes/s [SATA/600 = 600,000,000 bytes/s]
  • KB = 1000 bytes, KiB = 1024 bytes
[Read]
SEQ 1MiB (Q= 8, T= 1): 1786.088 MB/s [ 1703.3 IOPS] < 4693.14 us>
SEQ 1MiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 1490.023 MB/s [ 1421.0 IOPS] < 703.17 us>
RND 4KiB (Q= 32, T= 1): 328.355 MB/s [ 80164.8 IOPS] < 398.79 us>
RND 4KiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 41.054 MB/s [ 10022.9 IOPS] < 99.36 us>

[Write]
SEQ 1MiB (Q= 8, T= 1): 1668.719 MB/s [ 1591.4 IOPS] < 5014.96 us>
SEQ 1MiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 1084.286 MB/s [ 1034.1 IOPS] < 965.60 us>
RND 4KiB (Q= 32, T= 1): 235.231 MB/s [ 57429.4 IOPS] < 551.33 us>
RND 4KiB (Q= 1, T= 1): 118.998 MB/s [ 29052.2 IOPS] < 34.19 us>

Profile: Default
Test: 1 GiB (x5) [C: 65% (301/465GiB)]
Mode: [Admin]
Time: Measure 5 sec / Interval 5 sec
Date: 2021/03/02 18:02:52
OS: Windows 10 [10.0 Build 19042] (x64)
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
it doesn't look like its the drive then.
How did Prime 95 go?
if you get any errors in it, it creates a file called stress.txt in the folder its installed in, can copy/paste contents in here. Obviously if its really long, maybe not copy it all. just errors.
 
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
it doesn't look like its the drive then.
How did Prime 95 go?
if you get any errors in it, it creates a file called stress.txt in the folder its installed in, can copy/paste contents in here. Obviously if its really long, maybe not copy it all. just errors.
Hey im not sure if its doing anything, its been like this for 30 minutes.

 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
it looks stuck. does PC seem to be doing anything?

it has happened in the past but I am talking 11 years ago so its not exactly common

can you close it and look in the folder it installed in, and see if there is a stress.txt file there, it might give us something

its probably not a good sign that Prime won't run.

might want to get PC looked at, I am not sure if its the CPU or not.

You might want to try something like aida 64 and run CPU tests. If it has any.
I wish AMD had a cpu testing tool.

could try the bootable version and see if it gets any further - Prime 95 bootable - https://www.infopackets.com/news/10113/how-fix-bootable-prime95-stress-test-hardware
what test were you running?
 
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
it looks stuck. does PC seem to be doing anything?

it has happened in the past but I am talking 11 years ago so its not exactly common

can you close it and look in the folder it installed in, and see if there is a stress.txt file there, it might give us something

its probably not a good sign that Prime won't run.

might want to get PC looked at, I am not sure if its the CPU or not.

You might want to try something like aida 64 and run CPU tests. If it has any.
I wish AMD had a cpu testing tool.

could try the bootable version and see if it gets any further - Prime 95 bootable - https://www.infopackets.com/news/10113/how-fix-bootable-prime95-stress-test-hardware
what test were you running?
Hey I managed to get the prime 95 working. I the reason why it wasnt doing anything is because i didnt read the readme and set it up properly. I ran it last night for about 9 hours but I dont know what any of the results mean. I'm not sure if I ran the correct test because it says the results are in the results.txt file but there is none. All I have is results.bench.txt which shows these.

[Thu Mar 4 05:25:41 2021]
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=128, Pass2=25600, clm=4 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.44, 9.27 ms. Throughput: 213.74 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=128, Pass2=25600, clm=2 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.60, 9.41 ms. Throughput: 210.51 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=128, Pass2=25600, clm=1 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.99, 9.73 ms. Throughput: 202.84 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=256, Pass2=12800, clm=4 (8 cores, 2 workers): 8.92, 8.69 ms. Throughput: 227.17 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=256, Pass2=12800, clm=2 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.07, 8.81 ms. Throughput: 223.72 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=256, Pass2=12800, clm=1 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.39, 9.06 ms. Throughput: 216.94 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=320, Pass2=10240, clm=4 (8 cores, 2 workers): 8.97, 8.45 ms. Throughput: 229.76 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=320, Pass2=10240, clm=2 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.00, 8.64 ms. Throughput: 226.75 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=320, Pass2=10240, clm=1 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.29, 8.86 ms. Throughput: 220.43 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=512, Pass2=6400, clm=4 (8 cores, 2 workers): 8.82, 8.72 ms. Throughput: 228.04 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=512, Pass2=6400, clm=2 (8 cores, 2 workers): 8.87, 8.64 ms. Throughput: 228.49 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=512, Pass2=6400, clm=1 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.33, 8.87 ms. Throughput: 219.87 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=640, Pass2=5120, clm=4 (8 cores, 2 workers): 8.82, 8.71 ms. Throughput: 228.27 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=640, Pass2=5120, clm=2 (8 cores, 2 workers): 8.92, 8.53 ms. Throughput: 229.40 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=640, Pass2=5120, clm=1 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.11, 8.76 ms. Throughput: 223.99 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=1280, Pass2=2560, clm=4 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.01, 8.59 ms. Throughput: 227.32 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=1280, Pass2=2560, clm=2 (8 cores, 2 workers): 8.97, 8.55 ms. Throughput: 228.36 iter/sec.
FFTlen=3200K, Type=3, Arch=4, Pass1=1280, Pass2=2560, clm=1 (8 cores, 2 workers): 9.15, 8.74 ms. Throughput: 223.73 iter/sec.

I will look a bit more into the readme and run it again tonight. I cant run it during the day cause I need my PC for schoolwork.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
That looks like it passed everything in that run.

good to know the 1st error was just one in set up.

running Prime and doing anything else doesn't work too well, so you test it when you can, I am not sitting here waiting for you to reply. :)
 
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
Hi,

I ran the blended primed 95 torture test which covers all cpu stress + memory controller and ram for 10 hours and came back with no errors.

 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
CPU appears to be okay
RAM might be as well since Prime tests it as well.
Storage is okay
seemingly 2 things left
EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
Corsair RM650x
okay, if you crashing in games it does sort of make sense its these 2.
it could either be the GPU itself or the PSU

You can sort of test GPU running benchmarks, just to see if you BSOD during it
don't run both at once. I don't need scores, just running as a stress test
https://geeks3d.com/furmark/
https://benchmark.unigine.com/heaven

PSU less simple
the paper clip method - https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/what-is-the-paperclip-method-of-testing-a-psu.1336402/

or multimeter, this is best way as you can see scores under load.

or in the BIOS to check the +3.3V, +5V, and +12V. - https://www.lifewire.com/power-supply-voltage-tolerances-2624583

spare parts work as well but I assume most people don't have them.
 
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
CPU appears to be okay
RAM might be as well since Prime tests it as well.
Storage is okay
seemingly 2 things left

okay, if you crashing in games it does sort of make sense its these 2.
it could either be the GPU itself or the PSU

You can sort of test GPU running benchmarks, just to see if you BSOD during it
don't run both at once. I don't need scores, just running as a stress test
https://geeks3d.com/furmark/
https://benchmark.unigine.com/heaven

PSU less simple
the paper clip method - https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/what-is-the-paperclip-method-of-testing-a-psu.1336402/

or multimeter, this is best way as you can see scores under load.

or in the BIOS to check the +3.3V, +5V, and +12V. - https://www.lifewire.com/power-supply-voltage-tolerances-2624583

spare parts work as well but I assume most people don't have them.
Hey, sorry I havent responded for a while. The truth is I am just losing motivation to try and fix it. I really thought replacing the ram would do the trick and now I just feel kind of hopeless. I will run the GPU stress test tonight. If I were to go about testing the PSU, what would I look for in the bios? And what multimeter would you recommend if I needed one.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
If I were to go about testing the PSU, what would I look for in the bios?
you just want to check the voltages against the chart on here to make sure they within range -
PSU Tolerance Table
Voltage RailToleranceMinimum VoltageMaximum Voltage
+3.3VDC± 5%+3.135 VDC+3.465 VDC
+5VDC± 5%+4.750 VDC+5.250 VDC
+5VSB± 5%+4.750 VDC+5.250 VDC
-5VDC (if used)± 10%-4.500 VDC-5.500 VDC
+12VDC± 5%+11.400 VDC+12.600 VDC
-12VDC± 10%-10.800 VDC- 13.200 VDC
https://www.lifewire.com/power-supply-voltage-tolerances-2624583 (table copied better than I thought it would)

I am no electrician, I don't have a multimeter

take PC to repair store if you can't figure it out yourself.
let professionals figure out cause.
Don't give up. :)
 
Mar 1, 2021
11
2
15
0
you just want to check the voltages against the chart on here to make sure they within range -
PSU Tolerance Table
Voltage RailToleranceMinimum VoltageMaximum Voltage
+3.3VDC± 5%+3.135 VDC+3.465 VDC
+5VDC± 5%+4.750 VDC+5.250 VDC
+5VSB± 5%+4.750 VDC+5.250 VDC
-5VDC (if used)± 10%-4.500 VDC-5.500 VDC
+12VDC± 5%+11.400 VDC+12.600 VDC
-12VDC± 10%-10.800 VDC- 13.200 VDC
https://www.lifewire.com/power-supply-voltage-tolerances-2624583 (table copied better than I thought it would)

I am no electrician, I don't have a multimeter

take PC to repair store if you can't figure it out yourself.
let professionals figure out cause.
Don't give up. :)
Hey,

Just thought I would let you know, I think my PC is fixed. I updated the bios a few weeks ago and It hasn't crashed since. Thanks for all the help, really appreciate it.
 
Reactions: gardenman and Colif

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS