PC for Modeling Protein and Drug Interaction

0dd1ti3

Commendable
Oct 13, 2016
Hi all,

I'm new. Just created account. I am a researcher starting a new position modeling proteins and drug interactions. I currently have a 2014 13'' macbook pro that I use for data analysis and basic image processing and I will have access to a cluster for more complex work (have to pay by hour). I am looking to build or buy a new PC workstation for more intensive work at home - I've convinced myself that the laptop won't cut it based on how it handles larger photoshop/adobe projects. I have built PCs before switching to Mac for my previous position, but this was a decade ago. It will primarily be for work. I do not game. Ideally, I would want to keep the cost less than $1000 but if that is unrealistic, I can go higher. The lab currently uses Dell Workstations for similar small jobs and just let it run for hours or lets it go overnight - i would like to shorten that for efficiency.

Questions:
1. Is anyone out there involved in similar work and can make a recommendation?

2. I'm leaning towards building my own, but are there any pre-configured PCs that can perform well for 3d rendering/modeling that are worth it?

3. I have heard very good things about AMDs FX series and a friend recommended the FX-8370. Looking online, I see several recommend the AMDs over the Intel i7 and vice versa. Most of the programs I will use do not appear to support hyperthreading. I'm leaning toward the FX-8370. I know the new Zen chips are coming soon, but I would probably still purchase an older chip to take advantage of the price. Good idea?

4. What graphics cards and motherboards should I consider?

Thanks for your help.

Solution