PC keeps rebooting, more so during games, sometimes during cpu intensive tasks

PowerGlove

Reputable
Dec 1, 2014
Hi!

My pc keeps rebooting when its trying to handle cpu intensive tasks, or ones that might cause a spike in usage. It doesn't seem to be overheating, but it's hard to tell because whenever I check the temperatures after a reboot it'll rapidly sink down due to the fan. I normally catch it in the mid 50s as it starts going back down, so it could be going higher.

It didn't use to be like this at all, then it started happening after I started playing FFXIV, then became more and more common with that game until I stopped playing because of it. It never use to do it in my other games such as counterstrike or tf2, but now seems to be getting more and more common in them to the point where it also happens rarely (like when it began with ffxiv) during chrome if I have lots of things open.

I think I might have an overheating issue due to poorly applied thermal paste that was already pre-applied to my heatsink.

My specs are
intel i5 4690k, OC edition but I've made everything normalised with no offset.. but I think it might be doing it automatically and I'm not sure how to change that. It's ran through ASUS.
ASUS Z97 MK II Sabertooth MB
ASUS Strix GTX 960
2x DDR3 8GB RAM
650w Seasonic PSU

The games and things I run are barely that intensive, my old machine that had an AMD dual core and a gtx 560 never struggled like this.

chkdsk reports 0 faults. PSU doesn't seem to be the one failing otherwise i'd fail at random rather than on loads.

GPU doesn't spit out any errors, doesn't seem to be any either but I don't know if it might be that having issues.

Memtest gave me the green light two weeks before.

My pc suddenly turns off, waits a few moments, then starts up again as if nothing happened.I can see the LEDs on my mother board go red, most noticeably for a long period of time during startup on the harddrive connection port LED.