PC making an unusual low pitched whirring noise when playing games and on startup

Joe_M

Reputable
Mar 10, 2015
Hi guys, first of all I would like to say that I have some knowledge of computers but I do not know the advanced stuff.

In the last couple of days I have noticed that my computer has been making an odd low pitched whirring sound on startup and when playing games (such as Dying Light). I have tried to track the noise and I believe it is either coming from my power supply or my graphics card (possible a nearby fan). It is irritating and very noticeable and I don't want it causing further damage.

In addition to this, I have experienced some slow play on FIFA 15 singleplayer which has never happened before (however this may be down to a recent update or EA messing up again) and I am wondering if these two things are linked. I have not had a decrease in performance when playing Dying Light though.

By the way I have had my PC for about a year now and have never heard this noise before and it is happening regularly.

Thanks in advance, Joe.

Joe_M

Reputable
Mar 10, 2015

Its weird how I have never had it before though... And it seems it could be affecting some games' performance

Joe_M

Reputable
Mar 10, 2015
As a side note, I have looked at some videos of coil whine on YouTube and the sound I am hearing does not seem to be that.

Joe_M

Reputable
Mar 10, 2015

I was thinking it could be a fan but I don't know how to go about correcting it.

I dont think it has anything to do with my hard drive as the noise doesn't seem to be coming from its position but thanks for the idea.

Joe_M

Reputable
Mar 10, 2015
Well.... I don't hear that whirring noise anymore, but... instead i hear a crackling sort of noise and I'm 99% sure its coming from my PSU. I am thinking of getting a replacement for it or blowing some air through it so see if any dust is causing the problem.

Does anyone have any guidance on what to do?

Joe_M

Reputable
Mar 10, 2015