Question PC not booting up sometimes with new RAM or when using Dual Channel.

aranorde

Honorable
Oct 18, 2017
Current Specs :
Motherboard : Gigabyte A320M HD2 CF ( only 2 RAM SLOTS / Running BIOS F23)
Processor : Ryzen 3 1200 (no OC)
RAM : TeamGroup T-Force VULCAN TUF 16GB 3200 MHz DDR4 (2X8GB)
PSU : Corsair VS 450
GPU : Palit GTX 1050 StormX 2GB
SSD : Corsair Force LE 200 120GB (OS) / WD Blue 1TB

This is extremely confusing as hell to me. So I'll just type what happened in order. I'm a newb so please stay with me on this.

My PC was working fine with 2x8GB DDR4 G-Skill Aegis Sticks (bought back in April, 2019 / not Dual Channel Kit - bought separately).

It was working at 2133MHz speed (actual speed of the RAM sticks are 2400Mhz), no XPM or any OC used, everything was on Auto in RAM frequency on BIOS.

Suddenly it stopped booting out of nowhere a week ago. No fans spinning, no lights!

So I opened my PC to check if fans are starting to spin or any other weird thing is happening, boom my PC booted just fine. I did nothing than opening my PC.

Initially I thought it was the PSU acting up (FSP Hexa+ 450W), it has been nearly 2 years since I bought it so I changed to a new one, Corsair VS 450W.

PC didn't boot again.

At this point I'm guessing it is something going wrong with my MB so I took it to the place I bought and they tried booting it up, it booted up like nothing was wrong, but showed only 8GB usable of 16GB RAM.

They cleaned the RAM sticks, reinstalled and it showed 16GB usable. I took the PC home, and it worked fine for the day.

PC didn't boot again the next day.

Tired switching RAM sticks on the slots, no use. Tried booting with 1 stick on slot-2 it booted just fine. At this point I'm though that these RAM sticks are not suitable to work together.

Using my marketing skills and I sold my old RAM sticks (separately) quickly, got new TeamGroup T-Force VULCAN TUF 16GB 3200 MHz DDR4 (2X8GB).

Tried booting my PC, didn't boot.