Question Pc overheating after reapplying thermal paste

cool verma

Honorable
Oct 11, 2015
Earlier, my I5 9400f used to reach 80-85 on rdr2 at maximum, so I installed case cooling fans and got thermal paste reapplied. Now, the temps are going as high as 90-95, though only at loads. I don't know what has been happening, have been trying to fix it. Also, could it be the PSU? The whole issue started after I started playing cyberpunk and had weird restarts.
Pc specs:
I5 9400f 2.9 GHz
Nvidia GTX 1650 SUPER
16 GB ram
AntEsports VS500l

cool verma

Honorable
Oct 11, 2015
What thermal compound did you use?
Did you spread the compound all over the cpu or just a small dot?
Is the cpu cooler reinstalled correctly?
Truth be told, I don't know what compound it is. I got it done from a shop
He definitely put more than a dot.
And I checked, the cooler is loose from one point
Ah <Mod Edit> I guess we caught the problem?

Last edited by a moderator:
Truth be told, I don't know what compound it is. I got it done from a shop
He definitely put more than a dot.
And I checked, the cooler is loose from one point
Ah <Mod Edit> I guess we caught the problem?
Looks like you did. Type and make of paste and in some extent method of applying it makes little difference but loose (not enough pressure) or uneven placement is most usual problem.

Reactions: cool verma
Are you using the stock cooler?
If so, here are my canned discussion on how to do it properly:
----------------how to mount the stock Intel cooler--------------

The stock Intel cooler can be tricky to install.
A poor installation will result in higher cpu temperatures.
If properly mounted, you should expect temperatures at idle to be 10-15c. over ambient.

To mount the Intel stock cooler properly, place the motherboard on top of the foam or cardboard backing that was packed with the motherboard.
The stock cooler will come with paste pre applied, it looks like three grey strips.