Pc power off for a few seconds after push the power button then boots normally

G

First of all I want to greet you all it's my first time I post in these forums (which I've been reading lots of years) so I might post in the wrong section my question.

The problem is as it's discribed in the title. I will provide you with some more info. This thing was happening since the day we bought this pc. I didn't build this pc with my hands we just bought it from a shop.

I didn't mind that "problem" until today I wanted to sell this pc to a friend, so I need to know if it's possible to fix that because he might annoy him.

The pc wears an MSI s775 mobo, a CPU cor2duo E-series (it's an old pc)
I am pretty sure it's not a thermal problem as it's running @ 50C the CPU. Also not a PSU problem as it's an 650watt corsair TX series. And now I need you to to enlighten me what might cause this happening :/

The pc also shuts down itself ~2 seconds on a restart, then it boots normally and no problems observed since the day bought it.

Solution

I`v seen few mobos acting strange and after battery replaced problem is solved.
Ofc there is nothing more you can do for the mobo after all :)
And it could be problematic from the day 1.
G

Both

Nikolay Savov

Distinguished

Try to use different PSU for test.
If the problem is still there - the mobo is the reason of it
Try to change the Mobo battery - they cause problems on old mobos very often.

G

Has been tested with different PSU, and the "problem" was since the day we bought it (talking for battery) . I changed the PSU btw because we upgraded the graphics card so we needed a bigger PSU.

G

Could it be the battery? It's an old pc and that was happening from day1

Nikolay Savov

Distinguished

I`v seen few mobos acting strange and after battery replaced problem is solved.
Ofc there is nothing more you can do for the mobo after all :)
And it could be problematic from the day 1.

Solution
G