Question PC randomly reboots, tried a lot, but the only "fix" seems to be to undervolt Ryzen 3600 ?

Jan 22, 2022
Hey everyone, I've been running into some weird issues. I'm very new to the whole PC thing, basically build a new PC, tried to educate myself. I currently run (used parts, but from trustworthy persons):

Ryzen 3600 CPU
MSI tomahawk max II mainboard
GTX 970 GPU
Seasonic focus GX 850w PSU (this one I got new, to replace the old PSU, because I thought that was the issue)
16gb Corsair vengeance RAM (3200mhz)

I built the PC around a week ago. Since the first boot my PC would randomly reboot when under minimal load (watching youtube, installing software, even when opening a new tab). If I run prime95 it makes my PC reboot after literally 1 second. Temperatures were no issue at all, so that was not the cause. So basically the PC was unusable.

After a week of testing all kind of things (switched RAM, new mainboard, new PSU, cleared bios CMOS, unplugged everything multiple times, updated drivers, cleaned everything), I was ready to give up. Only thing I couldn't get my hands on was a new CPU to test. That was also the thing I was most afraid of, since that CPU cost me quite a bit.

Anyways, today I stumbled upon the practice of undervolting the CPU. I figured I'd give it a try, since I had no more hope left, also couldn't find a solution online for my problems. And interestingly enough, my PC is now running! I had to undervolt the voltage down from 1.35 to 1.30, with these settings I could run cinebench and prime95 for 20 minutes without my PC crashing/rebooting (I manually ended the benchmarks at that point). I did not have to underclock the CPU, only had to undervolt. So my Ryzen still runs at the 3.6ghz. This also fixed the red CPU LED on my mainboard, which was telling me something was wrong with the CPU.