[SOLVED] Pc shut down and has weird smell won’t boot

Sep 19, 2019
I was playing a game when my screen suddenly turned white and I couldn’t exit or anything so I shut down the pc I turned it on again when I started playing the white screen happens again so I shut it down and booted it up again and started reinstalling nvidia drivers cause I though that was what was causing the white screen hen it shut down while installing them and it had a weird smell which is coming from the cpu and gpu but not the psu and it won’t boot up anymore the power button did flicker red for a second but that was it please help

Solution
7700k not overclocked(~90w) + GTX 1060(120w) + 50w(headroom for everything else = 260w
Looks good if you just look at it like that... but you had a psu that wasn't designed to deal with gaming loads.
Office PCs are steady, and much more constant.
Gaming oriented PCs are constantly fluctuating, with many a sudden spike in load, which just any cheap unit will be unable to deal with.

Toss the gpu in the trash, it's roasted, and toss that psu in there along with it, unless you want to risk incinerating anything else... assuming nothing else is damaged.

Avoid cheap power supplies!

Solidjake

Notable
Sep 6, 2019
Can you identify where the smell is coming from (the area with the strongest smell) when you remove the side panel? Remove the video card and power supply from the case and smell them off to the side to narrow down what part it might be.

Sep 19, 2019
Can you identify where the smell is coming from (the area with the strongest smell) when you remove the side panel? Remove the video card and power supply from the case and smell them off to the side to narrow down what part it might be.
And also when I removed the gpu a little silver peace fell of and it looked kinda burnt

Sep 19, 2019
stick with 1 thread