Question PC startup issue, can't decide if it's a faulty PSU or something else ?

Oct 28, 2023
Hi everyone,

I have been having this issue for a few weeks and decided to fix it but couldn't be sure as i am not an expert.Whenever a power outage happens (frequently in my neighborhood) or if the PSU's power button is switched to off at some point,the next time I try to turn on the computer fans spin,led lights get on etc. for literally 1 second then everything turns off for 5 seconds and finally PC actually starts running again.DVD player makes a very loud mechanical sound at the final boot(doesn't do that normally) and there are some weird electrical noises coming from PSU that could be heard from the case.I suspect PSU but can't be sure. What i am afraid is if it is PSU then it could pretty much destroy the computer if not replaced but I don't want to buy a new one without being certain since electronic stuff is very expensive in where i live due to insane exchange rate so i need to be sure.I don't have the chance to test the PSU on another computer.

Here is a short video showing it :
View: https://youtu.be/EFtnwexFSgs

I wanted to make sure other parts are working fine so did some testing.

Things I Have Tested:

1) Inspected the case,motherboard and other parts to see if there is any damage to components, circuits and cables but everything seems fine.I don't know if motherboard could be faulty since couldn't test it.

2) PSU:Tested PSU's wall cable with a multimeter to check voltage and it was fine.Did the paperclip test to check voltages of 24 pin connector's pins and they were also fine.

3) CPU/GPU:I did stress tests on them to see how they perform under load and no issues at all.Voltages were at ideal range under heavy load too.Pretty low temps when idle.

4) RAM:I had some unused RAM's so changed them with the ones I currently use.They are all fine.