Hello there,
last year I build a new PC with the following specs:
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2400
Motherboard: ASUS PRIME Z270-K
Graphics Card: ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 Gaming OC
CPU: Intel Core i7-7700K
Storage: SSD 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply: 500 Watt be quiet! Straight Power 10 CM
I didnt play a lot of games with high specs since then, but recently I started OCing my system, in this case my Graphics card to get more performance out for some high spec game I started playing recently.
I used this tutorial: ASUS ROG Forum
There I first saw, what a graphics card like mine is supposed to be able to do: in the Unigine Valley Benchmark around 4000-4500 Points (this result being an OCed one). So I ran the test to see what my rig could do and I consistently only get around 1300 Points. Using OpenGL instead of DirectX11 gave me 2000 points 1 time, still way below expectations.
So I went to see where that problem was coming from and I did some other Benchmarks: in these cases UserBenchmark and PassMark, respectively: here the results that puzzle me:
Passmark:

UserBenchmark:

TimeSpy:

Unigine Valley:

So UserBenchmark says my CPU is performing subotimally, while in PassMark 2D-capabilities and Memory wreck my score, while in Unigine the only bottleneck that seems to be the culprit is the graphics card.
In the Passmark rating software you also see a baseline comparison chart comparing the system performance against similar setups: the result is speaking for itself, I reckon.
Also OpenCL does not work on my GPU, even when I clean install the latest NVidia drivers. The heat seams to be no problem in both cases, GPU never goes above 65 Celsius, and the CPU max temp was around 70 as well.