PC takes numerous attemps to boot

Status
Not open for further replies.

assault1212

Honorable
Dec 8, 2012
Hi guys. just a newbie here in tomshardware. just askin, my computer is being weird lately.

if i do a cold boot. sometimes it runs/boots in one shot (fans spinning and lights) and sometimes it runs but it has no display (blinking power button on my monitor) if this happens, i repeatedly press the power button to turn the pc on multiple times until i get to the bios screen.

i had replaced my power supply lately because i have been browsing threads that relate to this and said that the power supply may be the culprit. (upgraded from 500w to 600w)

what do i do? what hardware is responsible to the problem? how can i fix it?

PC Specs:
Processor: i3 2120 @3.30Ghz
RAM: EVM 4GB DDR3 1333 i think.
GPU: Nvidia gt630 2GB
Power Supply: Trendsonic 600w PSU
MOBO: ECS H61H2 - M2

Ralston18

Titan
Check that PSU upgrade from 500w to 600w was really enough for your system. Add up the required wattage for all components and add about 25%.

When the computer runs look at the Event Viewer logs and see what problems (errors and warnings) have been generated.

Double check that all external and internal cable and power connections are correct and secure. Check that all cards, RAM, and chips are securely seated.

RAM: no "i think". Pull the chips and check.

When it runs check that all drivers are up to date: especially for the graphics card.

assault1212

Honorable
Dec 8, 2012

the psu was adequate 500w. before it happened, my computer just runs fine after this issue occured. i thought that the psu was the one to blame then i replaced it with a 600w one. i even calculated it in a psu calculator.

i have cleaned, checked and reseated the cables. i ran chkdsk with 0kb in bad sectors. there are no bent transistors in my motherboard.

Ralston18

Titan
How does the power button feel? I.e., good clean "click"? Could be the switch is failing.