[SOLVED] PC trips ARC fault breaker

Peter_189

Reputable
Dec 8, 2016
Hello,
I'm in an apartment with a 15 amp circuit that has an ARC fault breaker. My PC trips it 95% of the time that I turn it on. It does this even with everything else in the room unplugged.

The PC works fine in other rooms.

Here is my build:

PCPartPicker Part List: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/8bJ2TH

CPU: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2 GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i GTX 70.69 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3000 CL15 Memory
Storage: Crucial MX300 525 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8 GB GAMING X 8G Video Card
Power Supply: Corsair RMi 1000 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

My landlord had an electrician come, and he concluded that there was nothing wrong with the circuit or breaker, or the pc cable. I'm not very technically knowledgeable so please correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems like starting the PC is causing a spike that the ARC fault breaker detects.

I've heard something about UPS battery packs, but am a bit confused as to why they come up in similar discussions, because isn't that to prevent supply issues?

Is there anything I can plug my pc into that will "eat" the initial spike of power or something? What exactly are my options here?

Last edited:
Solution
"okay I will try that. I am hoping to upgrade to Nvidia's new flagship line this year... should I keep around my current PSU for that?"

Not unless you intend to move your PC to a non-bedroom, otherwise you'll still have the same problem you're having now with the AFCI breaker tripping aren't you?