[SOLVED] Pc Upgrade Help

Dec 20, 2019
Hey. I'm planning to upgrade my pc to a better one but don't know which components i should replace or change to.

Specs right now:

CPU: i3-8100
GPU: GTX 1060 3gb
RAM: 8GB DDR4
Storage: 200gb SSD, 1TB HDD
Motherboard: ASUS z370-p
Powersupply: 500 watt

Im kinda on a budget so I don’t want to spend to much. I only want to change the stuff thats crucial to my performance, for example do I need to upgrade the motherboard? I want to change like the graphics card because its getting old and doesn’t have a lot of vram. So keep in mind that I dont want to directly put more than 500 $ If I have to put more since something maybe will for example bottleneck then i want to upgrade slightly with time ( say what I should upgrade first in that case)

Solution
I have an Cooler Master MasterWatt Lite 500W for psu

Doesn’t DDR4 work with DDR4 i’ve read somewhere that the brand doesn’t matter.
Yeah, you'll definitely need a different PSU, that is a crap unit. For the RAM, the DDR4 spec ensures RAM-motherboard compatibility, but the two sticks of RAM you use need to be compatible WITH EACH OTHER as well, which can be a bit more tricky and much more trial and error. So, while any DDR4 stick can be installed in your system, the other RAM stick already present might not work well with the new stick. Here's the new part list:

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: Intel Core i5-9400F 2.9 GHz 6-Core Processor ($149.97 @ Amazon)
Memory: Patriot Viper Elite 8 GB (1 x 8 GB)...
Also, what power supply is that? Might need a better quality one for a good GPU, while 500 W is plenty but the quality of the PSU matters more than the wattage, for which we need the full model name of the PSU. Assuming the power supply is good enough, I'd upgrade the CPU, GPU, and get another 8 GB RAM stick. Something like this:

PCPartPicker Part List

Memory: Patriot Viper Elite 8 GB (1 x 8 GB) DDR4-2666 Memory ($32.99 @ Amazon)