Pc won’t boot properly most of the time

Sep 3, 2018
In the last two weeks I’ve had an issue where my computer won’t always boot up properly (more often than not), no display or keyboard power, and a dim power led.

Sometimes it boots properly (well lit power led, full display, keyboard power etc.) and it just works.

AND THEN sometimes it turns on fine with display, well lit led, keyboard power etc. Only to turn itself off back on again with a dim power led, no display etc. Again...

If/when It does boot correctly it stays on (no crashes or freezes and works as it should), processes are fine, running games on high settings is fine, all temp levels and power use is fine etc.

I’ve gutted the entire pc component by component to try and discover the source of the issue but nothing has changed. That includes reseating wires, hardware etc.

The computer seemlingly seems to just work when and if it feels like it. I’m not a novice to building PCs as I’ve always built my own and for the last 4 years it’s ran like a dream (I’ve changed the gpu, ram, cpu HDD, And PSU when they needed updating, the only thing that hasn’t changed is my mobo).

I’m starting to suspect my mobo is dead/dying, but even that is just suspicion because like I said, the pc works and stays on when it does turn on correctly.

The mobo emits no beeping noises signifying anything is wrong, even when I removed everything apart from the cpu and PSU ...

I’m at a complete loss and feel I’ve tried everything to get to the core of the issue, even reset the CMOS. I still suspect the mobo but the fact hat my pc turns on and stays on (when it wants to) leaves me scratching my head.

Anyone have any ideas? Tbh if it’s dead I’d rather it stayed dead than keep giving me glimmers of hope lol

MOBO: msi gigabyte z87-g45
GPU: AMD r9 270x 4gb
Cpu: i5 4670k 3.4ghz (heat sink attached).
PSU: Corsair cx 600
Ram: Team group Vulcan 4GB ddr3 2133mhz (x2)
SSHD: Seagate Barracuda 1000GB

Solution