PC Won’t Overclock

xTfn02

Reputable
Dec 11, 2015
I have an Intel i7 7700k and 16gb of RAM but they won’t overclock successfully. They have normal temperatures before attempting the clock. So I go into the bios and change the speeds/voltage to the reccomended startout speeds/voltages(just a moderate clock to start). However, when I save and exit the bios, the pc starts loading up but the screen remains black. The pc is still running but nothing is displayed so I have to power off the pc by holding down the power button. I have the Asus Z170 Pro gaming motherboard and a corsair h115i pro AIO Cooler. Not sure what to do since this is my first build and first time overclocking.

Solution
Well im completley an idiot i forgot to add an picture of it.... (ES is engineer sample, which in my comment should be picture of what stock i7 should look like).
xtreem_ddr4_4133_CPU_Z.png

(also try older version of the CPU-Z)

Now for the main question, which overclocks did you apply like going from lets say 4.0GHz to 4.5GHz or going all way to 5.0Ghz?

On your CPU-Z screenshot it seems kinda bugged.

Try to apply 100MHz overclock on the CPU if the multiplier is 45X and base clock 100MHz (you don't touch base clock) just change the multiplier to the 46X, if it doesnt wanna boot , set ram profile to the XMP. (I might be wrong as I never had Z170 motherboards to experience overclock)

And last thing...

zhangsteven15

Prominent
Nov 2, 2017
There is something called the "silicon lottery", where microscopic differences in the manufacturing process will affect how well you chip overclocks. It may be that you just didn't hit the "silicon lottery".

xTfn02

Reputable
Dec 11, 2015
I’ve heard of the silicon lottery but I don’t think that could be the problem since I can’t overclock my ram or my cpu at all despite them both being unlocked/able to be overclocked.

xTfn02

Reputable
Dec 11, 2015