[SOLVED] PC wont boot with oc Ram

Jul 23, 2020
Hi,

History:
I have a asus Z mother board bought about 5 yrs ago with 4x 4gb ddr4 HyperX 2666mhz.

The Issue:
The rams are clocked at 800mhz when they came out of the box, but can be overclocked at 2666mhz which I did in BIOS and it worked, but sometimes for no reason (actually there might be one, when I move or knock the pc unit) my pc wont boot, it happens since I bought the pc about 5yrs ago.

My method of fixing:
I've used the same method to fix it all these years which I found it by myself, i'm no pc nerd but I'm an engineer and know some stuff about pc's aswell.
Step1. Remove 3 ram units and leave only one
Step2. Start the pc and it works, it boots with only 1 ram installed
Step3. Enter in BIOS and set to default the whole overclock settings, then reboot
Step4. Install 1 by 1 the rams until they boot all 4 togheter
Step5. Go in BIOS and do the overclock again
Step6. Boot and it works
Step7. When I knock the pc and doesn't boot agai, i'll go to step 1 and redo it again

Conclusion:
My guess is that when I knock the pc one of the ram is moved and not connected properly into the slot and gets to default setting of 800mhz while the other 3 are at 2666mhz and my pc has 2 different values for the ram and wont boot. By removing 3 and leave only 1 there is only one value in the ram unit which is 2666mhz, then by using Step3 from above gets to the same values of the uninstalled ram and when I put them all they have the same value of 800mhz, and my pc boots up.

Questions:
  1. Do you think this is the case?
  2. What do you think is the issue, 1 ram slot from the motherboard or the ram itself? But my guess is that it can't be the ram itself as it wouldnt boot at all.
  3. Do you know a permanent fix?
Thanks

Last edited:
Solution