PC won't turn on

Mar 27, 2018
The motherboard light is on. When I turn on the switch on the back of the unit the fans spin for a moment then stop. Theres a barely audible high pitch ring coming from the unit. I put a new battery in the mb, no change. The front power light won't come on when pressed. I'm a novice at this stuff. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Solution
Okay. You could always buy a new computer. 8 years is a long time in the pc tech world.
But il be nice and help :)

You need to troubleshoot to find the problem. (starting with the PSU -> Motherboard -> CPU)
I can only troubleshoot the psu and the ram the rest i dont know yet.
But its likely to be the Power Supply Unit (PSU) that is faulty. (it can also be the RAM too but thats why you need to check the PSU first. And in worst case, the CPU can be faulty/dead)

Running fans and/or the motherboards LED's turn on dosnt necessarily indicate that the psu is okay. It might be faulty so the best way to do this is if you borrow a psu from someone or buy a new one but please try to borrow one first. It needs to be around 500-600 watt

insty

Prominent
Sep 19, 2017
Hello.

Im not good at this stuff either.

Did you do something like replace a component?
Would be nice if you could send the PC specs.

Thing that you can try:
Check the ram. It might not been correctly inserted in the slot.
Also check the power cords. You might have connected something wrong or forgot to connect. Make sure that you didn't connect a PCIe/VGA connector on the cpu.

Mar 27, 2018