Peltier (TEC) + Water + Mineral oil idea/question

laurencewerner

Distinguished
Dec 10, 2008
Would combining the full mineral oil immersion build (you've all seen it on youtube, typically in an aquarium) and TEC water cooling eliminate the condensation issue with the sub-zero temps?

I would leave the PSU and the water system (pump reservoir radiator) out, and put all core components under peltier and water.

Technically, the water should dissipate enough heat for the peltier to produce sub-zero temperatures nice and steady (with proper power of course), and the mineral oil should keep the components condensation free...

Its just theory, and I'm still very new at all this.

Plz tell me what you think.

NB: I already posted this thread in homebuilt systems, but I feel it would fit in alot better here, sorry for double post.

I was thinking of doing some thing very smiler. Instead of using Water on the loop for the TEC I was thinking of using mineral oil.

I am planing on building the aquarium PC and right now I have pump, rad (heater core) and the tools. I plan to make my own TEC block.

boulard83

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2008
shadow, i want to see this pics of this futur beast ! i still dont know how im going to configure my next beats. but im surely going to use :

I7 + P6T v2 + DDR3 1600 + SLI GTX285 everything WCed.

im thinking about buying a BOREAS 12tec, ill have condensation trouble with this Boreas ?

orangegator

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2007