Pentium 4 630 (3.00Ghz, 800FSB etc)

Sketch7000

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2006
Hi everyone!!

Ok, i have got a system running a Pentium 4 630 CPU. Out of curiousity I downloaded WCPUID to see what it said (have never used it before).

It showed the correct speed of 3GHz, but in the L2 Cache memory box it showed 128kb?

The P4 630 should have 2Mb i thought?????

Im not sure if i've got my wires completly crossed somewhere, im no computer expert (as im sure you can tell!!)

Any help or advice would be great!

Thanks a lot,
Nigel

P.S. Not really the correct section of this site to ask in, but as im here..... when i turn the machine on, instead of seeing the page which shows how much RAM etc, and what hard drives / CD drives are installed, I get some daft image with my Motherboards model code etc. Is there any way of stopping this so i can see what you 'normally' see?

Thanks again!!!

TabrisDarkPeace

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2006
This might be because the system is a Celeron 3.0 GHz, and not a Pentium 4 3.0 GHz.

Here is a link to Intels processors:
http://www.intel.com/products/processor/index.htm?iid=HMPAGE+Header_2_Product_Processors

If it only has 128 KB L2 then it is one of the older Celerons most likely.

It might be listed on:
http://indigo.intel.com/compare_cpu/default.aspx?familyid=3&culture=en-US
; if it is a Celeron.

However it should be labelled and sold as such.

Note: HP, Fujitsu, etc can special order CPUs from Intel with non-standard specifications, the CPU in question might not be listed on the Intel website.

If you got it from a dodgy PC shop it is prob just an overclocked Celeron (128 KB L2) processor.

Intel® Processor Identification Utility link:
http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts-df-external/Product_Filter.aspx?ProductID=1881&lang=eng

It will tell you what your CPU really is. :p