[SOLVED] Performance issue with RTX 2700 Super in Red Dead Redemption 2 ?

Jan 14, 2023
Hi I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction. I was planning to do another playthrough of Red Dead Redemption 2 but I am running into severe performance issues. For some reason I am only able to get about 5 fps max, even if I run on the lowest graphics settings. What's weird is that I did a full playthrough of this game on this same machine 2 years ago on much higher settings and never had any issues. I am able to run other games just fine with no performance issues (The Witcher 3 Enhanced, Master Chief Collection, etc). I've tried reinstalling the game and my graphics drivers but no luck. Any ideas what to look for? I'm relatively new to pc gaming and not sure how to go about troubleshooting an issue like this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

CPU - Intel i7-9700k
GPU - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
16 GB RAM

Solution
Hi I was hoping someone here could point me in the right direction. I was planning to do another playthrough of Red Dead Redemption 2 but I am running into severe performance issues. For some reason I am only able to get about 5 fps max, even if I run on the lowest graphics settings. What's weird is that I did a full playthrough of this game on this same machine 2 years ago on much higher settings and never had any issues. I am able to run other games just fine with no performance issues (The Witcher 3 Enhanced, Master Chief Collection, etc). I've tried reinstalling the game and my graphics drivers but no luck. Any ideas what to look for? I'm relatively new to pc gaming and not sure how to go about troubleshooting an issue...