Performance issues despite a strong Overclock

NNORSE

Reputable
Jan 21, 2015
I've been struggling with this for a few days now and have finally turned to making a thread in the hope of gaining some insight into the solution to my problem.

I recently purchased a second gtx670 card in order to give SLI a little go. I got little to no increase across the board on anything and so delved deep into the internet to find out why. I've learnt a lot in the past couple of days that I didn't know before and I suppose I am still a bit of a novice when it comes to technicalities.

Essentially - I've learnt that the reason I see no benefit from an SLI setup is because my CPU is bottlenecking me. The problem with that is I don't understand why.

I'm running an i7 3770k clocked up to 4.6ghz, 16gb of RAM and an AsRock z77 extreme4 mobo. All I am trying to do is run Smite on 150fps, which shouldn't be much to ask given that it isn't that graphically demanding. I've checked some stats and noticed that with a single card setup my GPU doesn't go beyond 50-60% power while a couple of the cores in my CPU seem to be taking the bulk of the load and maxing out, and not giving my GPU much chance of taking over. (In an SLI setup the GPU load is even lower - around 35-40%).

My main issue here is that a team mate of mine is running a lower rate i5 and a 660ti card but still getting 150fps constantly, and that's without an overclock. I'm really struggling to understand why my CPU is struggling with something like this, given that the temps never exceed about 55deg and that its clocked way up. I've researched into optimising the BIOS for my mobo with my processor and seen no improvements.

If anybody has any suggestions whatsoever that would be very much appreciated. Cheers!

NNORSE

Reputable
Jan 21, 2015
I should add that the problem has not altered after a fresh install of windows as well as the latest BIOS update for my mobo and the latest NVIDIA drivers.

truegenius

Distinguished
BANNED