Plasma vs LED/LCD TV for a monitor

Off-Kilter

Oct 15, 2011
Hey everyone, I need some advice,

I am in the market for a new tv, because my 32" samsung lcd's mainboard died 2 months ago (not worth the money to fix it), and I am a student, so I am on a tight budget. I am using a TV primarily as a monitor first, then watching actual tv a distant second (my desktop is in a living room situation)

I've heard that plasma tvs give you the best bang for your buck in terms of picture quality, most people say that burn in isn't a problem anymore and the only thing that happens is image retention (play a game for a few hours, and the hud will stay for a few minutes then disappear). But since I'll be browsing the web a lot, I am worried about, say the windows start button being static for so long, that it might burn in fairly quickly. If that isn't the case, and I have no need to worry, then I was thinking about picking up this plasma on sale:

http://www.visions.ca/catalogue/category/details.aspx?categoryID=520&productid=9924&sku=TCP50U50&gclid=CLiDy_7D3LQCFYp_QgodeWAAsQ

If having a task bar be static for a few hours everyday might cause burn in, then I would purchase this Samsung lcd (good size for a good price):

http://www.visions.ca/catalogue/category/Details.aspx?categoryId=519&productId=9636&sku=LN46E550

So I'll be web browsing, watching movies, playing Battlefield 3, document editing etc. What do you think is the best choice? With the LCD I wouldn't have to worry about burn in and breaking it in for the first 100-200 hours, but the picture quality is not nearly as nice and there would be more blur compared to the plasma (Battlefield 3).

Thanks for the help!

I would go with a LCD over a Plasma for a computer monitor because of the response time , I feel that the response time on an LCD is much better then a Plasma.
For watching Tv and movies I would go with the Plasma because the picture quality is much better.