Please Check My (Budget) Build for Audio and Video Creation.

BAM_7n2mg5bv

Honorable
May 17, 2015
Hi,

I would be very grateful for some more experienced builders to look over my parts list. This is my first build, so I just want to make sure I'm not looking over any obvious problems.

Here's my rough plan for this puppy:

-Dual boot Linux (AVLinux?) and Windows 7 using the two SSDs.
-Pro Tools 10, Gimp, Blender and some light gaming on Windows 7.
-Ardour, Blender, Gimp, other audio/visual/media tools on Linux.
-Blender will be used for video editing, though I may decide to get into some 3D rendering type stuff in the future (I'm assuming the 8 core processor will handle this well?).
-I will be using an external usb sound card for audio work (probably a Focusrite Scarlett 18i8).

I don't want to go much more expensive than this, which is why I've gone with AMD cpu. This is all for hobby (don't rely on it for money), although I'm pretty serious with the audio stuff and would like good results. I'm thinking the 8 cores will be good for Blender and should be fine for the audio production and non-serious gaming. The mobo/CPU price is a deal from buying them both from Microcenter.

I have found one comment online where someone is successfully using this CPU with Pro Tools, so I'm crossing my fingers on that (Avid recommends Intel i5/i7).

See any obvious mistakes? Any Linux experts know of any potential hardware problems? Media creation people have any opinions?

Thank you so much for your help! Here's the list:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/x7Qzbv

HonkyKong97

Reputable
Feb 7, 2016
Yup, those 8 cores should be good for Blender and rendering. Plenty of people use AMD CPUs with Protools. It doesn't seem to be on the compatibility list, but those lists are typically pretty crap. I changed the HDD (Seagate is junk), added a CPU cooler, and changed the WiFi card.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor ($140.00)