mazyar

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2001
I am fairly new at the multi-media aspest of computing. I have a sound blaster live value and am currently in the process of buying a Radeaon 64 Vivo and Pioneer DVD-ROM 106S. I currently have a 2.1 speaker(logitech) and am thininking about an overhall in the sound department. I was looking at VideoLogic DigiTheatre DTS and really like the rave I hear about it, however, its $600 price range is somewhat out of mine. Reallistically, I was thinking of MidiLand 7100 plus which I belive comes with it's own 5.1 decoder. It's $230 price is much more to my liking, but I have not heard as much good things about it as Videologic.
I was wondering if anyone here has any experiences with either of these speaker systems, or if anyone can suggest something that they liked better in the $250-$300 price range.
Also, do I need to upgrade my SB live value to one of it's 5.1 siblings or would I be ok as long as the speaker systems have some kind of 5.1 decoder...

Thank you for your help.

igottaknife

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Hey that aint a newbie question!!!
I dont know about the speakers but you might want to look at the Hercules Game Theater XP for a good sound card.

Your Signature Sucks

FatBurger

Illustrious
Basically, any of the SB Live! series except for value have 5.1 support, both digital and analog. They're all basically the same card, just with different software (and the IR drive, in the case of the Platinum).

I don't know much about specific computer speakers. Just go and listen to them, that's what I recommend.

Apple? Macintosh? What are these strange words you speak?

arsend

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2001