Please help make sense of my New Build network cabling setup

JamesTae

Commendable
Oct 10, 2016
Hi guys. Newbie here hoping someone will be able to help. Please go easy on me and apologies if I break any forum etiquette here :)

I've just moved into a new build, and it appears to have some sort of structured wiring setup. The developer can't give me any detail on it (still pushing them), but in the meantime I'm hoping you can perhaps help me untangle (pardon the pun) what exactly the intended setup is, and how best to get my network set up.

There are 5 plates through the house - 2 in the front room, 2 in the master bedroom, and 1 in the second bedroom. Each plate has 2 coaxials (one marked TV aerial and the other marked Radio), and one telephone line jack.

In the cupboard under the stairs is a bunch of unterminated wires - 15 x coaxial, and 2 x cat5e's.

Outside, there are 2 unterminated coaxial cables. There is no telephone master socket installed in the property - an Openreach engineer is coming out soon to install one.

My questions are really two fold:

1. Any idea what this setup is supposed to be?
2. Where is the best place to install the master socket?

But they break into a few smaller questions:

- I've read online that cat5e could be used to wire the phone lines. Does this sound likely here? Is there a way I could safely check if this is the case?
- Would it make sense to install the master socket in the cupboard under the stairs (a bit more work for the engineer and more drilling through walls, and right next to a washing machine), or simply install it in the front room (further away from all this cabling, and from the master bedroom)?
- I can only account for 12 of the coaxial cables (2 x 5, plus 2) - why do I have 15?