Please help me find the best method to back up 5 drives to one 4 TB external

zagaldus

Reputable
Oct 19, 2018
So I have A LOT of very important data and over the years I've had to purchase new drives as I ran out of space naturally. Now I have a total of 5 drives and I've been pulling my hair out over this for a few years now, trying to figure out how exactly I could do this.

This is what my system looks like as far as hard drives go:
V7UD1Tn.png

Figured an image would be better than trying to write out every drive, easier for everyone else.

So a couple of these drives have an OS installed on them (I would install windows onto one drive, run out of space then had to purchase new drives and do that again but now I just run off of the main SSD drive's OS then add HDDs to store data.

And I would like to just back everything up, all the drives including the OSes, pretty much like a clone of all the drives so in case one drive fails I can be back up and running again without having to reinstall a new OS and try to configure it how it was before with settings and whatnot that I spent so much time doing in the past, installing drivers and doing registry edits for specific programs and files, etc.

I just don't want to be installing an OS again, I want to back everything up so I have a mirror image clone of each drive so if I need to recover a drive that failed all I have to do is buy a new drive and move the backup to it and I don't have to worry about installing a new OS or any of that.

The drives total about 3.5 TB so I have a 4 TB drive that I'd like to backup all the drives to. I'd like to just copy all the system files and data for each drive, each partition to the 4 TB drive then if one of the drives fails I can just recover that respective drive's backup partitions on to a fresh drive without having to reinstall OS or anything like that.