Plex Media Server Build

arm1234

Honorable
Jun 2, 2013
I am currently running a Plex Media Server on my Raspberry Pi 2, and I want to build an in home server to allow transcoding and the like. At this point, I have a samba share on my network that my 2 Windows machines back up to. On the same share is my media library, and that folder is mounted to the Pi. The Pi is running the latest Plex Media Server, but lately I have been having transcoding issues, and it's time to upgrade to a dedicated machine!

So, interested in building my own Linux/Ubuntu box to act as an in home server! I haven't seen any PC partpicker builds for something like this, but would love some hardware help.

I'd like to spend less than $500, but if a solid transcoding machine runs more I can budge a bit.

Thanks!

Solution
This is a quick and dirty parts listing, but its something to give you an idea. I went with Skylake because the new IGP on it is supposed to be able to pump out 4k video, so you can leave out the cost of a dedicated GPU unless you have a specific need for one. If I'd gone down to an i3, it could have been about $30 cheaper but the quad core for transcoding as well as for any ripping you might do would come in handy. Tho without knowing what programs beyond plex you use, I cant say. But if you have specifics I can look in to if a multithreaded dual core (i3) would work better than a single threaded quad core (i5). The PSU is a bit over kill, but anything lower in wattage was a difference of $10 at most and this will give you more power...

arm1234

Honorable
Jun 2, 2013

No need for optical drive, small would be nice but need to fit a couple drives in so not sure if I can do a mini ITX. Noise isn't a huge issue.