Plugging in a wireless router crashes a section of the network, randomly

Kaelstorm

Prominent
Jun 29, 2017
I haven't been able to locate any information on a problem like this anywhere else on the internet, but maybe someone has an solution for what I'm describing. I'm an Intern at a business that currently has no WiFi. Back in December the company network was down for about 2 days until they unplugged all the wireless routers, and just now we're working on restoring wireless. We've purchased brand new routers, and have been testing just one at a time to see if there's any problems with the overall network. Usually there is no problems, but randomly (anywhere from 2 days to 5 hours) two people will lose their internet connection. Their VOIP phones go offline and they have no connectivity. It seems to be the same two every time, but there's never any noticeable reason as to why this happens.

The routers are configured for the LAN network, mainly to function as access points with statically assigned IP's that fit within the reservation list of the DC, and currently only 1 is plugged in at a time to test.

If anyone has any ideas as to why a wireless router (with no one connected wirelessly) could crash two people on the network please give me some advice. If anyone needs more information let me know.

Solution
It depends on your equipment. All you would have to do is plug a switch/router into that port and then plug 2 ports together with a cable. You get a instant loop and broadcast packets will eventually overwhelm that segment. At that point you generally see all kinds of different errors on a port.

Spanning tree and other features are used to prevent that. What I was surprised to find is many $10 unmanaged consumer switches have that feature enabled so it is much less a problem than it used to be.