Port forwarding a NAS to get high speeds: what am I doing wrong?

alemutasa

Prominent
Jan 2, 2018
Hello everybody!

First and foremost, please forgive me if I'm vague and I can't properly explain my problem: I'm new to the networking world and I'm still struggling to properly understand it all. Also I'm not a native English speaker, and that worsens all up. Sorry!

Now to business: I bought a Synology NAS for Christmas, a DS218j with two 2TB WD Red HDD, in order to store all my crap on it, listen to music on my hi-fi, accessing my music library when I'm not home and use a Linux machine without installing it in my machine (I installed Linux before on the very machine I'm writing on, I foolishly messed GRUB up and I had to format my drive, losing all the Windows files: don't want to risk again).

I already managed to SSH into the NAS by opening port 22 of my router (which model I don't know: thank you, non responding Italian ISP!), both via home network and other networks; I also managed to make the hi-fi play whatever music I wanted and to access the NAS via phone app to listen to my music when travelling.

The thing I didn't manage to do is to speed up the transfer rate and I really want to fix the puny 8MB/s transfer speed: my brother is a videomaker and his files tend to get very big (up to 10 GB per file) and my music is all FLAC, I don't want to clog up my entire network everytime my brother has to transfer a file or I buy a new CD. The only thing I tried to do is to create a new "rule" for my router as shown in the image below, but nothing else came to mind (note that 5000 and 5001 ports are dedicated to Synology):

https://imgur.com/a/CmkBl

(about image posting, how do I display an image directly without a link?)

Here's, hopefully, something to help with the diagnosis:
- my router is 1Gb capable (or at least that's what the box says);
- my laptop wi-fi is 135 Mb/s capable;
- my desktop motherboard interface is 1Gb capable;