Discussion Possible for Windows 10 to feel "snappy?"

Dec 19, 2021
Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone with high-end hardware has felt it actually made a difference on their Windows 10 rig in terms of how "quick and snappy" it feels in day to day use. I've been building PC's for 15 years, and a sys admin as 10. My newest PC is a Lenovo desktop with Core i9-10900, 32GB DDR4-3200 in dual channel, Quadro P620, and 512GB WB SN S730 SSD. I can't say that even with a brand new windows 10 pro install, it feels any better under normal loads than my previous Intel NUC with an i5 and some type of NVME SSD.

Perhaps a better SSD would help, but disabling Windows animations has probably made more of a difference than that would. I mostly work on virtual servers these days, rather than PC's, so I am looking for high availability first and high performance next, and when I am looking at performance, it is usually IOPS for a database. So, is there anything you guys would consider to be a hardware bottleneck at the moment, like mechanical drives were back before SSD's, or do you think it's just the bloated Windows OS? Seems to me like systems are pretty well balanced these days. Has anyone actually noticed a difference when upgrading from an average NVME, to say a 980 Pro, or had a Windows machine that felt closer to an iPhone or even an Android when opening apps, etc.? Just curious what your thoughts are...