Power Supply Help

Elmaes

Commendable
Feb 15, 2016
Hello, so i have a lenovo pc (e73) with core i3 4160 and 4Gb ddr3 memory and i want to change the power supply.
So my question is,
Can any pc get its power supply changed ? Or there are permanant power supplies?
Thanks in advance. :)

Solution

In technology, yes everything is replaceable. ;)
There are several different form factor power supplies such as standard ATX or Small Form Factor (SFF). Yours happens to use an SFF 180 watt. It gets tricky trying to upgrade OEM built PC's because they sometimes use proprietary power supplies that have odd dimensions or are wired differently, and trying to use an aftermarket PSU may damage the system. Best to check on the Lenovo forums to see if anyone else has upgraded their identical PC to make sure it will work before trying it.

Elmaes

Commendable
Feb 15, 2016

Sorry guys, but im new to PCs world, i just wanna know if its replacable or not :)

PSUGod

Reputable
Feb 14, 2016

In technology, yes everything is replaceable. ;)

Solution

Elmaes

Commendable
Feb 15, 2016

Okay, do new PSUs fits this case eVGA 500W PSU fits that case ?
and can i run GTX 750Ti OC 2GDR5 after upgrading the PSU ?

PSUGod

Reputable
Feb 14, 2016
No a GTX 750 Ti doesn't need 300W PSU, it only takes around 60W for a standard model.

So if you're gonna buy a non OC model, you should be fine. Just look if it's fits in the case.

What's the minimum recommended wattage for a GTX 750Ti? What processor is being used? Does the board even have a PCIe x 16 slot? Does the Bios allow for the card used? Do they need a low profile card? You need to answer all these questions before you go recommending someone use a graphics card in an OEM. It may work no problem, or, they may end up with a card they can't use, or it might pop the PSU and destroy all their components.

PSUGod

Reputable
Feb 14, 2016

There isn't any, it just depends on the other components.
What processor is being used?