Power Supply requirements

struct

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2010
I had to buy a Power Supply since recently purchased HP workstation didn't have PCI-E power molex. The new one couldn't power the motherboard so naturally I thought I bought a defective PS and returned it to get a better one. This one also doesn't work.

I'm beginning to think the output of the power is the issue. I'm no expert on electric / power. I'm hoping someone here knows what problem I'm experiencing.

Solution
When I look at the pinout of the 20-pin main power connector for the original HP Z200 power supply unit it doesn't conform to ATX standards. It looks to be proprietary because the HP power connector does not supply any +3.3VDC.

It doesn't look like you can just buy any ATX form factor power supply unit and expect it to work because it won't.

HP Z200 PSU Main power cable, P1
HP_Z200_Workstation_PSU_P1_Connector.jpg

Pin : Signal
1 : GND
2 : GND
3 : –12V
4 : GND
5 : GND
6 : PS_ON
7 : GND
8 : Fan_CMD
9 : Fan_Tach
10 : GND
11 : 12VMain
12 : 12VMain
13 : GND
14 : 12V1
15 : 12V1
16 : GND
17 : 12VSB
18 : 5V
19 : GND
20 : 5V

Compare it to the ATX standard...
When I look at the pinout of the 20-pin main power connector for the original HP Z200 power supply unit it doesn't conform to ATX standards. It looks to be proprietary because the HP power connector does not supply any +3.3VDC.

It doesn't look like you can just buy any ATX form factor power supply unit and expect it to work because it won't.

HP Z200 PSU Main power cable, P1
HP_Z200_Workstation_PSU_P1_Connector.jpg

Pin : Signal
1 : GND
2 : GND
3 : –12V
4 : GND
5 : GND
6 : PS_ON
7 : GND
8 : Fan_CMD
9 : Fan_Tach
10 : GND
11 : 12VMain
12 : 12VMain
13 : GND
14 : 12V1
15 : 12V1
16 : GND
17 : 12VSB
18 : 5V
19 : GND
20 : 5V

Compare it to the ATX standard:
connector_atx_pinout.GIF

Solution

struct

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2010
ko888,