Power supply surges detected; twice

Queth9

Reputable
Jan 15, 2015
I've been struggling with time increasing stuttering on my computer for quite a while and figured it could be due to my GPU being overheated. I upgraded my GPU from a 780 to a 1080 and it worked fine for one day. Now my computer has turned off twice, with the message "Power supply surges detected during the previous power on. Asus Anti-Surge was triggered to protect system from unstable power supply unit!" (gyazo screenshot). I thought of it as kind of odd, as the 1080 uses 180W and the 780 250W. Does anyone know what causes/a fix for the problem?
I have a coolermaster G750 PSU.

https://gyazo.com/a590213e642b5ea1f3ffca409c311c41
^Other components in the screenshot!

Help will be greatly appreciated!

Solution

Obviously, you need a better...

Obviously, you need a better PSU. I would change it ASAP. It's not that it's not powerfull enough, it's that it's poor quality.
Get this: http://pcpartpicker.com/product/qYTrxr/evga-power-supply-220g20550y1 if you never want to SLI
or this if you do: http://pcpartpicker.com/product/MfJwrH/evga-power-supply-220g20750xr

Solution

GhostKavik

Commendable
Jun 2, 2016

Did your PC work fine before with the 780?

Queth9

Reputable
Jan 15, 2015

The computer stuttered, but had no problems with power surging before the upgrade,

InvalidError

Titan
If I had to hazard a guess, the PSU simply lacks sufficient output filtering to absorb the load transients the new GPU puts out on top of what the 4770k already did. In some cases, it can also be the GPU putting out excessive noise on the supply.

As has been mentioned above, this is a recurring theme.

GhostKavik

Commendable
Jun 2, 2016