Power supply unit

Samtastic06

Distinguished
Feb 13, 2012
Hello folks, i have a question about my power supply position. I have a Coolmaster Elite 430 case, as well as a Kingwin 850 Watt power supply, with a 140mm fan i beleive. I have 5 case fans, one in the front, and one on the side blowing in, and two on the top and one on the rear blowing out. I have an amd radeon 6870 GPU, and stock cpu heatsink. My question would be, should i have the power supply fan facing up, like it is, blowing air into my massive GPu fan, or since i have slots underneath my psu can i flip it over and have it blowing its air outside the case. I have clearance underneath my case, and all of my case fans are 120mm fans. So any comments on the position would help, or even the position of my case fans. My idol temps are 8 degrees celsius on my cpu, and 20,40,34 for my TMPIN temps. When im playing games, my cpu goes up to about 29 degrees, and my gpu up to about 50-60 degrees celsius. All of these numbers come from Hardware monitor CPUID. So thanks for reading, and i look forward to tips and comments.

D

Deleted member 217926

A power supply fan sucks air in and blows the hot air out the back of your computer. If you case has a cutout or holes in the bottom and room for the power supply to get air then the fan should be down so it sucks in fresh air from under the computer and not hot air from inside your case. If there are no holes or a cutout in the bottom of your case then the fan has to be up. The fan is up in my Antec 1200 so it sucks in air from inside the case and blows it out the back.

D

Deleted member 217926

Incorrect. If a case has a bottom cutout then the fan should face down so that the power supply is getting fresh air and not running hot air from inside the case through itself. Some cases such as my Antec 1200 do not have a cutout so in that case yes the fan should face the motherboard.

Edit: Just finished Deus Ex for the second time myself. Great game.

Samtastic06