Pre-Boot Encryption for a USB Flash Drive

exchange keys

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2009
I have a USB Flash Drive that I customized with NLITE and WinSetupFromUSB so I can install a Windows XP SP3 image unattended.

That works, but now I would like to encrypt this so that when I boot the machine from this USB Flash drive, I just need to type in a password and proceed with the installation.

TrueCrypt is giving me issues, and I don't think it'll work out.

Any suggestions?

cubicriot

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010
I have a similar situation:

I am a hardware technician and need to boot from an encrypted USB stick to keep software and client information away from prying eyes until I can put it on my server. How can I encrypt my flash drive so that it requires a password on boot and upon access from a workstation as well?

Does anyone have any suggestions?

cubicriot

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2010

Thank you for the response but it's still not quite what I am looking for. The software you suggested does not support boot-able devices.

I would like to boot, say Linux distro from my usb flash drive (like you would from a live CD) but it have a pre-boot security password for my flash drive so no one else can boot from it or access anything on said flash drive without the password. Basically I don't want people messing with my tools and\or information.

I am not sure that such software exists yet but, then again that's why I am asking.

usbdude

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2011
I don't know if you can decrypt a drive before you boot from it...

Its sort of a long work around, but perhaps set up 2 partitions on your USB drive, encrypt one partition and leave the other unencrypted. You would then have to put in a password to decrypt, transfer your tools to the regular partition, and restart.

I know its far from ideal, but I don't think there exists something like what you are talking about.