Premiere - 8MB vs. 64MB

G

I currently run a Celeron 300 system with an ATI All-In-Wonder 8MB. I'm trying to get more into video editing, so I'm purchasing a new system with an Athlon XP1900+ as well as a large 7200rpm hard drive. My question lies in what kind of video card would best suit me. I really don't play any games, so am I wasting my money buying a new video card that has 64MB? If Windows/Premiere doesn't use that memory except for gaming, then I think it makes more sense to use my existing All-In-Wonder in my new system. I read all the articles on this site pertaining to video memory, but I'm still lost as to if the 64MB will help me in video editing or if that's a purchase that will go to waste. Please advise.

mystic

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2002
The 64 will help but not too much with what your doing plus the new all in wonder cards have new features. Just depends on how much you want to spend.

G

I've been editing video now for over 2 years, using a Pinnacle DC30 card with Premiere. I've just bought a Pinnacle Pro/1 card - what can be done with it is absolutely amazing!
For an easy guide and details of equipment options checkout www.dvc.uk.com

<B><I>Mervin</B></I>

G

I'm basically looking to spend as little as possible, so if the extra RAM on the card won't do anything for me, I'm stoked to save $30 or so and use my existing card. Thanks.

arsend

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2001