Problem extending guest network

tanman05851

Honorable
Sep 23, 2016
I'm trying to extend the range of just my guest network(router is Linksys EA6300).Both the router and extender are close(10 ft) to each other.I have been using the home extensions for a few years with no problem.I know I can only extend one network.ACL is off.

So I use a laptop to log into mywifiext using the 2.4 home ext.The netgear genie finds the home network and the guest network.On the screen where it asks "Select the name of your existing network" I select the guest network.When I click on continue it searches for networks.Eventually it comes back with "The extender was unable to connect to your existing network".If I cancel and instead select the home network it works the way it should.

Also I reset the extender-didn't help.
Lastly-does can anyone list an extender that definitely will extend the guest network?

Solution
I think you have identified why the extender will not connect to your guest network. It has no capacity to open a web page and enter the password there.

You had me going with the NSA van story ... for a second.

How to resolve this ...
Do you trust your RV loving relatives? You can extend your main network and let them on. Yes, they could see your computers, but unless your are sharing with no passwords, they can not access them (depends a bit on what you have on the network).
Are you will spend a bit of money? You can upgrade your router to one that allows for multiple isolated networks. Or add an router/AP and connect all your devices to the new router/AP while they connect to the extended main network (they will not be able to...