naveen r

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2011
hi,

i am using Core I3 system with built in graphic card...i am basically an artist and animation designer so i use software's like adobe Photoshop coral etc....
problem: while using Photoshop my CPU usage goes very high... 85% on wards... so then system becomes very slow... not able to work... kindly suggest me a solution for this problem....

1. shall i increase 2 GB RAM
2. Shall i increase 1 GB graphic card
3. shall i shift to a better system..... may be core I7.... or suggest me which is better... with same price range

i am facing a problem. kindly help me

thank u
naveen r

AbdullahG

Distinguished
An i3 isn't the best choice for CPU heavy tasks. However, I doubt it's the main cause of the issue. A new GPU helped me boost rendering performance significantly (mine has 1GB of GDDR5 VRAM). I have 4GB of RAM, but I would recommend 8GB or more for your use.

Pilk

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2010
You have settled for a very basic system with regards to your needs. I think what you are suffering from here is the CPU dedication to graphics interfacing. Firstly i would recommend a proper graphics card upgrade and see how much strain that takes off the processor there after processor and then RAM. Try look at an Nvidia GTX 560TI if you do are going to consider a card i use a GTX460 for my design so should help quiet a bit.

Buying a separate graphics card should help. From what I've read, Photoshop doesn't really rely on the video card except when you apply some particle effects so it does not have to be a very powerful video card. The reason why it will help is because the integrated graphics uses some of your system RAM. Therefore, it frees up some RAM; 512MB I think. You should be able to find those cards for around $50 - $70 after rebate.