Question Problems began when I tried to upgrade RAM...

GalFed9339

Prominent
Dec 31, 2020
Hey there, so first off, thanks in advance to anyone who takes a whack at my problem here--any and all advice is appreciated. I have limited experience dealing with my computer, so for all intents and purposes I'd like you to regard me as a total noob.

Next, here's the machine I have:

Three years ago I bought, as a prebuilt PC, a CyberPowerPC Gamer Master GMA8840CPG Gaming Computer w/ Quad Core Ryzen 3 2300X 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD + 1TB HDD, and about a year ago I upgraded from the included Radeon R7 240 2GB to a Radeon RX 580 8GB, and a new Corsair PSU to go with it. Neither the PSU nor the GPU have ever been a problem in the year since the upgrade.

Now, here's what's gone on:

I initially wanted to upgrade my RAM from 8GB to 16GB. I looked up what I thought was compatible RAM, 2×8GB DDR4 3000MHz, and I tried to install it--I used an anti-static band to ground myself, I turned off the power strip, the PSU switch, and unplugged the power cord itself, carefully removed the single 8GB RAM and added the two new 8GB sticks.

The computer seemed to otherwise boot, but with no display. I tried the basic stuff like HDMI input-switching, unseating and switching the RAM between its two slots, resetting the CMOS battery and holding the power button, but I couldn't get back the display.

Finally, at a loss, I brought it to Best Buy. They told me that the RAM I'd bought must not be compatible with my motherboard, and I was prepared to take it home with my original 8GB right then, but they offered that they had one 16GB set left in the store they'd tested with, and it worked, and did I want to snag that RAM? So I did, I returned the first set of RAM I had bought, and a couple days later I picked up my PC from the store and took it home with the new RAM installed.