Problems Connecting 24 pin PSU connector to mother board

gylroy838

Prominent
Aug 1, 2017
Hey Guys,
I am new to building a computer, i just started my build.
I have
msi gaming pro carbon z270
and
CORSAIR TX-M Series CP-9020131-NA 750W ATX12V PSU

I am at a point where I need to connect the 24 Pin PSU connector to the mother board but when i connect it it will never go in. It goes 90% of the way. I saw some more posts regarding this issue with Corsair but I thought of getting an extension cable Silverstone PP07-MBW Motherboard 24pin Connector Sleeved Extension Power Supply Cable from https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812162041 and connecting the Corsair PSU cable to the extension cable and connecting the extension cable to the mother board. I saw a guy on Youtube having a similar set up but he did not go over how he put the cables together. I am wondering if this is a good idea? if theres anything I may need to know about the cables? if they will be able to support the power supply? Please let me know or if you tried something similar let me know

Thanks

Barty1884

Retired Moderator
I've never heard of this 24 pin issue? Could you elaborate?

The 24 pins only "fit" one way due to the locking connector - is it possible you're trying to put it in backwards? Or you don't have the +4pin lipped under the 20pin aspect?

An extension can work, but are usually aesthetic only. There's not reason to "need" an extension in your case.

gylroy838

Prominent
Aug 1, 2017

gylroy838

Prominent
Aug 1, 2017