Problems with AMD Overdrive & Overclocking

BredByAliens

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
im an unemployed engineer with too much time on my hands and i know NOTHING about OC'g any components. i would like to learn. I just downloaded AMD Overdrive and after reading some material from this website, i went to Preferenes/Settings and clicked on Advanced Mode. i window pops up and tells me that using Advanced mode may corrupt my system. i click OK to continue and nothing happens. i cant choose novice or advanced mode. here is my system:

CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 940 BE
Memory: 4x2GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-9600/ 1200MHz / Blade Series / Low Voltage
MoBo: Asus M4A78-EM and latest Bios 1006
Built in video card: Radeon HD 3200
Sound Card: Creative Labs 70SB104000000 Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power: 480W

i know im gonna need a new Power Supply and a new Video Card, just dont know what i need.

Im not trying to build the fastest machine ever, i just wanna learn about OC'g and some tips and expectations without resorting to extreme measures.

i will greatly appreciate any help that anyone can give me.

- Bred By Aliens

BredByAliens

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2009
i know im gonna need a new Power Supply and a new Video Card, just dont know what i need. Unfortunately i have an old micro-atx case and cant find any power supply. can i get an external power supply?

godless

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2007
no external power supplies. a good case can cost you as little at 55 dollars. you can get the antec 300 case. as far as the power supply goes. what brand/model is it. it could be enough for overclocking.

if yo u plan on overclocing, i would suggest an aftermarket cooler. the stock coolers are really loud and not that good.

graphics card, wait for the ati hd5850, or for prices of current gen card to come down.

try reinstalling the AOD. also for overclocking you may want to try out the bios. that's how i overclock. easy to raise the multiplier ,voltages and north bridge speeds.

BredByAliens