Problems with Memtest86+

-Nemesys-

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2009
Hey everyone.

I am currently experiencing 'technical difficulties' using memtest86+.

The problem, is that memtest v1.x and v2.x will 'freeze' (?) upon loading.

The strange thing is that I've used memtest briefly b4 about 2 or 3 months ago. I ran a whole pass 100% with No errors - With this current setup; my hardware (and mostly software) has Not changed.

I have been building / repairing / refurbishing desktop PCs for many years now, mostly as a hobby or as a favour, however I am totally stumped atm.

The reason I'm trying to run memtest is because I owned a Very corrupted Seagate IDE hard drive for about a year; that's approx. how long it was 'bad'... So, sick of having this persistent problem, I bought a new SATA HD.
I explained to the guy at the shop that my hard drive was corrupt, that it was definately the drive, it had started to die a year ago and now was at the point where even <500kb jpeg images were going corrupt (I could 'see' the corruption just by looking at them).
I was sure it was the hard drive - I had even downloaded a utility from the HD manufacter which Failed the SMART check (strange, as it was reported 'OK' in system startup) but the guy said I should maybe check my RAM - which btw I purchased from him about a year ago, around the same time my HD got initially 'Fried'. So BEFORE installing the new SATA drive, I made a USB stick bootable, with Memtest86+ on it.
I can't remember which version I used at the time, tho I think it was the newer one, v2.11. In any case it worked fine; my usb booted win98's DOS and loaded Memtest ok. I let Memtest run a full pass, JUST TO BE SURE it wasn't my RAM causing data corruption. It achieved 100% with NO errors before installing a new HD.