[SOLVED] Problems with Powerline adapters --- is this a mains issue ?

AlienPsyTing

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2014
Hi there everyone HNY2021 to you all.

I rarely post in this forum, more of a reader digging around for the occasional troubleshooting assistance. but I thought I would run this minor problem by you all. I am a techie for a living, so I see domestic and business customers across most of the London postcodes in the UK,

So today I had a client where I had quite a simple task to perform and that was to move a Netgear router on to a new BT master socket that had just been installed and then connect some power lines to give a bit of a WIFI boost around the house and have some network points that people could plug into.....

With that in mind I set about doing the work

I moved the Netgear router on to the new downstairs British Telecom master socket and it connected ok.
Then I put in the first of the power lines (TP-Link PA-4010) waited for the lights to settle, then put in second and paired them. Plugged the first Powerline into the router and then took the second Powerline upstairs.

I thought it would work straight away but then started to get some quite strange problems on one occasion I had all the middle LED on showing that there was a home network to which all of power lines were connected, but after about 10 to 18 seconds on any of the power lines that I plugged in to any of the sockets the middle (home network) light would extinguish.

Reluctantly I decided to call all TP-Link and run it by then who said to me that it might be something on the mains circuit that was interfering with the functioning of the powerlines.

The only places where are these powerlines function properly and show up the home network circuit light is when they are in a dual socket next to each other when I first configured them.