[SOLVED] Productivity/gaming system.

simbas

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2008
Hi. I’m a pro photographer converting around 100 raw photos in Photoshop practically on a daily basis and my current system is getting old, so I need a new one. I’d also like to play a game or two once in a while. Anyway, this is what I had in mind: I already have a new 800W PSU and an MSI GTX 1060 GPU. I’ll probably be buying an AMD Ryzen 3800x CPU, G.skill Trident Z 16Gb 3600Mhz CL16 and a Crucial Mp600 1Tb m.2 SSD. How important is the mobo? Would an Asus Tuf Gaming (200€) be good enough? As for the case I have no idea. It would be nice to have a 3.1 Gen 2 USB port in front for the card reader or an USB stick, since I hate sitting and waiting for long periods of time at the computer. My budget is somewhere around 1000-1200€. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Solution
You still have very nice build. Do you have ssd? If not, it would be great improvment if you get it even 2,5" sata ssd. You can change your case, or add card reader in cdrom place how I said before. You can clean you pc, change thermal paste if temps are high, update bios, reinstall windows if do it long time ago and etc. You can exchange your cpu to i7-2600k,(or 3770k if motherboard supports it) and overclock a bit for better performance, cause you have p67 board that allows you overclock, but you need better cpu cooler if you use stock. Also I check components health, and performance. There is a lots benchmarks and software like crystal disc info, memtest, hwinfo, etc. Change your psu if it's old, out of warranty and poor quality. You...

Blitz Blitz

Distinguished
May 18, 2015