Programming PC and casual game build.

cpuconfuse

Honorable
Jul 28, 2013
Hi guys , i am a newbie here and i want to ask which is better, an i5 or an i7 one i should pick?. I will go college soon and I will build a new PC because my old Core2 PC is broken. I will use it for a lot of working college stuff. Browsing, download and watch HD video, programming such as coding (C++, Pascal, etc), and web development for example : MySQL, PHP, etc. I will not use it for extreme games (CRYSIS 3, or Metro), but more likely moderate games (NFS Shift 2 medium settings in 1920x1080 resolution maybe this game is the most heavy, but the other will be like Sims 3, Sims City, Dota2, and Sleeping dogs low setting).
I wonder if i will not use any discrete video card and towards using HD graphics 4600, if it possible doing such things i've mentioned above especially for the games?.
Oh yeah i almost forgot to give my budget for the rig, it will be $1000 (for the i5)-$1100 (for the i7) approximately include LED 22"(not IPS),and Keyboard+mouse.
Please help me guys.
I was thinking for quite a while between these two CPUs that confuse me each time i read reviews about i5 that give anything you want for now, and the i7 that give you less benefit with its HT than the i5, but still the best and it will last for quite a while. is this true that i5 is the best choice due to its close performance to the i7?.
Oh i forgot to mention that i will also do much multitasking (Coding programs, Browser, Ms. Office (4 tasks or more when it comes the time i must do the final essay and presentation), AV scanning each day because my parents oblige that due to security reasons (this is surely pisses me of and because it use much the CPU's speed, and RAM), and those programs is always used together most of the times)
Finally, please give me some suggentions for the i7 and i5 build and which is the best suitable for me (college purpose).