Question Proper thunderbolt usage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

moliminous2

Reputable
Dec 3, 2018
So I'm a bit new to this and I'm just getting my shopping list together. Esentially my computer is on the 3rd floor and I wanted to set up an area on the second floor where my living room is, where I can use it for my needs. Lots of vr and gaming at the same time pretty much. But I'm not sure how to do it. I don't want a second pc. I was looking at using Corning tb3 50m to a dock, cal digit ts4. But I'll be honest... idk how thunderbolt works fully. And my research is mixed. My gpu is an rtx3090 which should support tb to my knowledge but is it better to connect to a mother board?
The dock for add info, will just be needed to display the game screen, run the vive down there and a few other USB devices. I want to be able to esentially controll the pc fully from either points.

My current pc specs are
64gb ram
Ryzen 3900x
Rtx3090
Sabertooth z87 motherboard.

Any help would be appreciated. If I need to upgrade things let me know. In for penny in for a pound.

moliminous2

Reputable
Dec 3, 2018
Any info or recommendations needs a listing of the actual parts.

But...what are you expecting this Thunderbolt to do for you?
Well like I said in OP, esentially work as a connection from the pc to living room, where I can play the game, run the vr etc. Esentially like a remote control for the upstairs pc, that also can take usb.

USAFRet

Titan
Um what? Not sure where you got that? I even mention the 50 meter cord I would use, and it's not even the only brand. This has been done multiple times on linus techtips like up to 3 years ago lol?
"I was looking at using Corning tb3 50m to a dock "

There is a lot of stuff that is sold, that is not actually workable.

If you see it on LTT, then do it exactly as they state.

moliminous2

Reputable
Dec 3, 2018
And I am completely ready to be proven 100% wrong.