Question PSU died

Nov 16, 2018
So I wanted to start my PC, which is connected to an extension cord along with my monitors and speakers. I am usually turning off my extension cord power by a switch the extension cord has and when I turn it on so I can start the computer up the PSU made a short circuit right after switching the extension cord on. So the PSU wasn't working anymore, tried to make sure it was dead with that green-black paper clip thing and it was indeed not working anymore.
Guestion is, as my new PSU is shipping right now, how do I prevent this thing from happening again.

Specs:
Old PSU: Corsair RM650x
Motherboard: B150-HD3
GPU: GTX 1060 6GB
Processor: i7-6700
2x 8GB Hyperx 2133 RAM
One hdd and one ssd
Also, the new PSU which I hope I got right is a Superflower Leadex II gold 650

Also want to point out that I've been using this rig for over 2 years and haven't got any problems with it whatsoever.
Hope I'm on the right thread

Last edited:

Zephyl

Commendable
Mar 13, 2017
are you plugging your devices into a regular power bar, or is it a surge protector? If it is not a surge protector, it should be. Other than that, all I can say is that you should make sure you dust out your whole PC once in a while and make sure to get the PSU, too. Excessive humidity can also cause a PSU to short.

Nov 16, 2018
are you plugging your devices into a regular power bar, or is it a surge protector? If it is not a surge protector, it should be. Other than that, all I can say is that you should make sure you dust out your whole PC once in a while and make sure to get the PSU, too. Excessive humidity can also cause a PSU to short.
I think it's a regular power bar, I live in Eastern Europe so I don't think it's the humidity and I'm sure I haven't poured something into it. I cleaned the dust out a few months ago when I replaced the paste. I guess it may be the power bar then, thinking of it, at times when I tried to turn it on it made a sound like a clap.