PSU w/ Crossfire 6950

AnToN_CheZ

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2011
Hey guys, first post! Go easy...... :)

Coming back to the PC market after around 6 years on console, I have a system built for the upcoming games toward the end of the year. I have a single 6950, and am considering getting another one to crossfire.

My question: I have a Coolmaster 650W PSU, and from what I can tell, it only has 2 6 pin connectors that the 6950 requires for power. I am not running very much in my build (1 blu ray, 1 HDD, AMD 1090T OC @ 3700MHz w/ Coolermaster CPU cooler, 2x4G 1600 RAM). Will I need a new PSU to run the second card, or can I use the adapters that come with the card to convert the spare regular power connection to the 6 pin PCIe? The system is only a month old, and just want to know if its worth doing now, or if I need a new PSU, I might leave it for early next year, and grab some other things in the process.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW, I used one of those power consumption estimate sites to input all my data WITH a second card, and it gave me an estimate of 550W power usage.

My exact model of PSU is Coolermaster GX Power 650W PSU (AUD $95) if this helps.

Thanks in advance!

AnToN_CheZ

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2011
so would I be best off to wait until next year, get a new power supply once I have at least had some use out of this one, and get one that is certified to run 2 x HD 6950's?

Or am I still able to run 2 on my current power supply? Will it cause problems if it is not on the certified list? I am currently running my card at 1.175v, 900Mhz clock and 1450Mhz memory, no problems in games and stress testing

AnToN_CheZ

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2011
yes that is my PSU. With that one though, there are only 2 x 6 pin PCIe connectors, and I will need 4 to run both cards.