Psychogenic Probe

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Psychogenic Probe
2, Artifact
Whenever a spell or ability causes a player to shuffle his or her library,
Psychogenic Probe deals 2 damage to him or her.

Would this ability trigger if it gets shuffled into his owner's library
from play (Oblation, Sway of the Stars)?
Can it work as a zone-changing trigger?
Or first the Probe leaves play, then the shuffle happens?
Thanks in advance!
Andrea Murru
Level 2 Judge
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Sat, 02 Apr 2005 16:17:16 -0500, Acherontia <qebm@libero.it> wrote:
>Psychogenic Probe
>2, Artifact
>Whenever a spell or ability causes a player to shuffle his or her library,
>Psychogenic Probe deals 2 damage to him or her.
>
>Would this ability trigger if it gets shuffled into his owner's library
>from play (Oblation, Sway of the Stars)?

No. This text does not say anything about leaving play; thus it is not a
leaves-play triggered ability. It looks at the state just after whatever
event is occuring, to see if it exists and can trigger.

>Can it work as a zone-changing trigger?

Nope. The trigger event has to -say- something is leaving play (which includes
"sacrifice" and "destroy") for the ability to look before the event, rather
than afterwards, to see whether it exists to trigger.

What is actually happening in the game can't change what _kind_ of triggered
ability some ability is. The Probe's ability doesn't say it triggers off
something leaving play or changing controllers, so isn't a leaves-play
triggered ability and is not treated specially by 410.10d .

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.